Ukraineatpresent.com - information about Ukraine  

Ukraine

 >

Northern Ukraine

 >

Zhytomyr oblast

 >

Liubar

About Ukraine
Ukrainian Airlines
Ukrainian Women
Ukrainian Dating
Travelling around Ukraine
Ukrainian History
Northern Ukraine
Zhytomyr oblast
Kyiv oblast
Chernihiv oblast
Sumy oblast
Western Ukraine
Central Ukraine
Eastern Ukraine
Southern Ukraine

Liubar

The Dominican Monastery
The Dominican Monastery
Liubar (2,300 residents) is a regional center on the banks of Sluch River. In the days of Kyivan Rus on the left bank of the river there was a town of city Bolekhiv mentioned in chronicles; armies of Batu Khan ruined it in 1240. In the mid- 14th c. Duke Liubart founded a fortified settlement on the opposite bank of Sluch River and named it named Liubartiv; over a century it was the center of appanage principality controlled by Lithuania. After Lithuania and Poland had united to make the Rzeczpospolita, the town was owned by prince Ostrozky and its name was simplified gaining its modern form. In the 16th c, due to advantageous geographical position, the city was a major trading and handicraft center. Crimean Tatars raided and plundered it in 1593 and 1614. The Catholic Church and Dominican Monastery were built here in 1634, and in 1666 the St. George Orthodox Monastery was found. The latter became a Basilian Monastery when the Uniate church prevailed. In 1775 the Basilians opened a school for 400 students. Now the water mill dam controls river water submerging picturesque granite rocks, so that only the Basilians' school and Dominican church (in 1752) survived and were restored in the 1990s.


 
 PREVIOUS PAGE NEXT PAGE
Lishchyn
Lishchyn
  Nova Chortoryya
Nova Chortoryya
 
 FEATURES